Racing FX News
Join | Forgot your password?
Baileys Top Right

Latest News

First Point to Point Award for Fitzgerald

First Point to Point Award for Fitzgerald


Racing Post Novice- Shane Fiztgerald

This was one of the tightest titles of the season with all to play for going into the final weekend.

Shane Fitzgerald was one winner behind Liam Quinlan going into the final weekend but a quick double at Kinsale on the opening day sealed victory for the young rider.

The  Cork native recorded his best season to date with a total of thirteen winners, eight of which came from his biggest supporter Mick Goff.

A day that will definitely stick out for Fitzgerald was at Borris House when completing a treble aboard Clondaw Rigger, Dahills Hills and Fabulous Saga.

This title has produced plenty of high profile jockeys which include the likes of Adrian Maguire, Timmy Murphy, Davy Russell, Derek O’Connor and Barry O’Neill.

This was Fitzgeralds third season and has already notched up total of 20 winners. 

He has guided thirteen four-year-old maidens to victory, six five-year-old maidens and one older maiden.  He has yet to win a winners race and an open lightweight.

There is plenty of new talent moving up the ranks this season, they include the likes of Liam Quinlan, brother of Roger and Sean Quinlan, he finished runner up on 12 winners, Chris O’Donovan, Shane Baragry, Gearoid Doyle and Luke Murphy.

Previous Novice Winners

2017 S Fitzgerald

2006 J W Farrelly

          G Elliott

1990 I Buchanan**

2016 M C O'Donovan

2005 A E Lynch

1997 R Flavin

1989 I Buchanan

2015 T Donworth

2004 A J McNamara

          A Fleming

1988 I Buchanan

2014 R James

2003 D O’Connor

          P Moloney

1987 R Hurley

2013 H D Dunne

2002  M D Grant

1996 J T McNamara

1986 R Steele    

2012 L C Murphy

          D O’Connor

1995 T J Murphy

          J A Berry

2011 C W Fennessy

2001 P Tobin

1994 T J Murphy

1985 R Steele

2010 B O’Neill

2000 D N Russell

         K O’Sullivan

1984 W J Burke

2009 B O’Neill

1999 S McGonagle

1993 P Roche

1983 A J Martin

2008 P A King

          D N Russell

1992 J Lombard

1982 T S Costello

2007 J J Doyle

1998 S McGonagle

1991 A Maguire*

To view Shane's Highlights of the season, please click here...

Search the Archives

recent news story
The Irish Field have an 8-page point-to-point pullout in Saturday's paper and online.
recent news story
Take a look back at the first point-to-point sale of the season at Cheltenham where pointers were in big demand.
recent news story
Former Kilfeacle winner, On The Blind Side took the Grade 2 Ballymore Novices' Hurdle on day one of the Cheltenham November meeting.
recent news story
Franco will have all the away betting on big cards at Cheltenham and Punchestown for Kirkistown and Turtulla racegoers.
recent news story
We look back on some season highlights from point-to-points over the years.
recent news story
Dual Grade 1 winner from last season Finians Oscar, continued his winning ways at Cheltenham on his second start over fences.
recent news story
The RTE Countrywide programme on Radio 1 will feature a segment about point-to-points on Saturday morning.
recent news story
Nine runners have been declared for the opening hunter chase of the season at Cork on Sunday.
recent news story
THe William Durkan-trained Screaming Colours will go in search of his second career success at Lingstown in the Kilmore Potatoes Ltd & Cooney Furlong Grain Ltd Winners Of Two.
recent news story
Online entry for Knockinroe is now open.
recent news story
Quarry Rua will hope to make a winning start to the season in the Lyons Tyre Service & Bridgestone Open for Novice Riders.
recent news story
The Westmeath & Longford meeting at Corbeagh House which was due to take place on Sunday 26th November has been cancelled.
recent news story
Former Tinahely four-year-old winner won his third Graded contest when taking the Clonmel Oil Chase.
recent news story
Click here to view the Going Reports for this weekends meetings at Kirkistown, Lingstown & Turtulla.
recent news story
Court Cave sired three point-to-point winners last weekend as well as the bumper winner at Navan on Sunday.
recent news story
Ascot December Sale
Entries for the Ascot December Sale close on Monday 20th November.
recent news story
Jeannie Cook is our latest novice rider to feature in out Next Generation section.
recent news story
The nominees for the 2017 annual Horse Racing Ireland Awards were announced on Friday 10th November.
recent news story
There will schooling available at Kirkistown after their point to point on Saturday 18th November.
recent news story
There will be schooling available at Lingstown point-to-point on Tuesday 21st November.
recent news story
Jonjo Bright has been working alongside Northern Ireland athlete Mark Pollock with the use of Exoskeleton Bionic Suits.
recent news story
Our latest initiative to promote attendances at point-to-points is now live.
recent news story
Click here to view the 2018 Spring Point to Point fixture list which has just been released.
recent news story
The Turf Club have published the 2017 Autumn Fixture List which can be viewed here.
P2P Clothing
Ofig Fiontair AitiuilITMEU SIFPEuropean Union
© Irish Point to Point Services Ltd, 2014. All rights reserved. Grangeclare West, Kilmeague, Naas, Co Kildare
Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy
Hosting and Development by HostIreland
Racing FX News