Tattersalls Chelt Main Banner

Roll of Honour: 1983


Awards Venue
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny
Champion Rider: T.S.Costello (28 winners)
Champion Lady: Caroline Beasley
Champion Novice (7lb Claimers): A.J. Martin
Ulster Champion: I.J. Keeling
Munster Champion: T.S. Costello
Leinster Champion: T.M. Walsh
Connaught Champion: T.S. Costello

28    T.S. Costello

25    T.M. Walsh

14    I.J. Keeling, J.F. Sleator,

13    E. Bolger, J. Queally.

12    T. O’Callaghan

10    A.J. Martin,

 9    W.J. Burke, N. Dee, P.J. Healy.

 8    G. Mernagh, B. Murphy

 7    J. Baragry,

 6    P.F. Graffin, D. O’Connor,

 5    Caroline Beasley, T.J. Bergin, D. Hassett,

 4    M.C. Banks, A.D. Evans,F. Fitzimons, F. Kiernan, P. Larkin, L. Lennon, J.J. Mangan, M.A. Murphy,

 3    M. Brassil, Carmel Connaughton, R. Hurley, J. Fennessy, J. Fowler, M.A. Jordan, S. Kerr, J. Leahy,
D. Mooney T.J. Nagle, J. O’Callaghan, R. Steele, Rosemary Stewart, Miss S Turner, W.J. Vance, J. Walsh,
T. Woods,

 2    S. Casey, M. Condon, D.P. Costello, J. Dagg, J.D. Doyle, D. Dundon, Ros Easom, Miss M Fitzgerald,
J. Gahan, J.F. Gleeson, M. Goldsmith, M. Green, R. Kehoe, P.M. Kelly, J. Lynch, C.P. Magnier, G. Martin, P. Mawhinney, Miss B. Mitchell, J. McBride, T. O’Brien, A. O’Gorman, P. O’Haire, M. O’Prey, C.P. O’Toole M. Phillips,

1    D. Atkinson, D. Barry, J.G. Bates, R.J. Beggan, T.M. Bergin, Bill Bourns, I. Buchanan, J. Bryson, E.M. Byrne,
Miss M Carroll, R. Carmichael, J. Cleary, D. Coakley, B. Cockburn, M. Cowan, P. Doyle, P. Fanning, P.J. Finn J. Flynn, A. Foley, R. Foley, D. Foster, Pauline Gavin, P. Geoghan, G. Gault, J. Gibbons, G. Gleeson, M. Griffin, J. Halpin, A.Halwax, P.J.F. Hassett, F. Holohan, B. Horan, M. Hyland, J. Jennings, I. Johnston, T.A .Jones, C. Joyce, E. Kelleher, P. Kelly, D. Kiely, J. Lambert, G. Lynch, Miss A Lennon, Miss E Maher, C. Marnane, B. Mitchell, D.W. McAuley, R.McCarthy T.P .McCarthy, J. McGeer, R. McGrath, M. McNeilly, W.P. Mullins, R. Lawlor, J. Lombard, G. Lynch, L.B. Murphy, D.M. O’Brien, V.P. O’Brien, M. O’Connell, P. O’Connell, M. O’Connor, P. O’Donnell, K. O’Donnell, A. O’Donovan, P. O’Flynn, M. O’Toole, M. Phelan, J. Quinn, V. Riordan, P. Ronayne, J. Shortt, J.F. Sleator, G. Stack, M. Todd, J. Tuite, J. Tyrell D. Williams, J. Willis, M. Winters, L.Young


•    1983 saw Tom Costello top the pile for the second time. He saw off the challenge of Ted Walsh 28 winners to 25. 21 winners had been enough the previous year
•    Costello in fact took the hat trick winning the Munster & Connaught titles also
•    Ivan Keeling finished third overall but did enough to take the Ulster title
•    Caroline Beasley won the Ladies title. This was the first year that the Ladies title was recognized at the awards dance.
•    Beasley enjoyed further success when her own Eliogarty won the Foxhunters at Cheltenham trained by the late Barry Kelly
•    Tony Martin was the recipient of the Novice title with his score of ten winners
•    Willie Mullins enjoyed success across the water in ’83 when Atha Cliath trained by his father Paddy took the Liverpool Foxhunters.



Membership of P2P.ie provides access to an extensive range of additional point-to-point content and features, exclusive only to P2P.ie members.


Already a member? Sign in