Roll of Honour: 1993

Awards Venue
West County, Ennis
Champion Rider: J.A. Berry (37 winners)
Champion Lady: Lillian Doyle
Champion Novice (Under 21): P. Roche
Ulster Champion:
J. Bright
Munster Champion: E. Bolger
Leinster Champion: J.A. Berry
Connaught Champion: J.A. Berry
Horse of the Year: Kerry Orchid
Champion Senior (OVER 33): P.J. Healy
Personality of the Year: Walter Halley
Leading Sire:
Strong Gale                  


37    J.A.Berry
29    E.Bolger
25    A.J.Martin
20    T.Lombard
18    T.S.Costello, M.Phillips
17    P.F.Graffin
16    P.A.Roche
15    J.Bright
14    D.P.Costello, B.Moran
13    J.P.Berry, D.P.Murphy
12    P.J.Healy
11    W.M.O’Sullivan
10    P.M.Kelly, D.G.Murphy
9    W.Ewing, J.Lombard, P.McMahon
8    A.G.Costello, P.Fenton
6    I.Buchanan, A.R.Coonan, J.A.Flynn, B.R.Hamilton, R.Hurley, D.Keane, K.Whelan
5    J.P.Dempsey, Lillian Doyle, D.M.O’Brien
4    T.Gibney, J.F.Gleeson, G.Martin, G.Mulcaire, J.G.O’Connell.
3    A.F.Brady, Jayne Bright, P.Cashman, J.Dineen, D.E.Finn, W.J.Gleeson, L.J.Gracey, G.J.Harford,
Cathy Harrison, M.Kelleher, L.Keogh, J.A.Quinn.
2    D.M.Christie, H.F.Cleary, P.M.Cloke, T.N.Cloke, G.Clugston, P.J.Crowley, D.Dorgan, P.J.Doyle, N.D.Fehily,
J.E.Finn, D.A.Harney, P.Henley, G.Hogan, N.C.Kelleher, C.T.G.Kinane, A.Lee, L.Lennon, C.A.McBratney,
B.Morgan, S.R.Murphy, D.C.O’Connor, J.A.Quigley, M.Sunderland, K.Taylor, Lucy Townsley, J.P.Walsh
1    R.A.Arthur, J.P.Baragry, T.J.Barry, J.G.Bates, D.P.Berry, D.G.Black, P.Bohan, D.K.Budds, F.P.Cahill,
W.F.Codd, M.Comber, L.Corbally, A.J.Costello, G.Coulter, F.Cowman, M.J.Day, P.W.Dawson, A.F.Doherty,
T.J.Durcan, J.P.Dwan, P.English, A.D.Evans, Gaye Ferris, R.Foley, G.P.Fitzgerald, J.M.Fleming, K.Frost,
W.Hayes, M.D.Hessessy, J.Horan, P.A.Humphries, A.J.Kennedy, Patrick J Kennedy, Patrick John Kennedy,
J.J.Lambe, M.Lonergan, D.A.Lucey, G.T.Lynch, D.Marnane, D.J.McAteer, C.McCarren, D.McCartan, M.McNulty,
P.J.Millington, Patricia Moran, L.B.Murphy, R.M.Murphy, T.J.Murphy, J.A.Nash, J.O’Callaghan, T.O’Callaghan,
P.O’Keeffe, B.O’Leary, E.J.O’Rourke, B.Potts, R.Pugh, O.J.Reddy, J.M.Roche, G.Ryan, S.Smyth, O.Tarrant,
N.W.Toal, F.Twomey, Kathleen Walsh. A.K.Wyse.
Some of the newcomers of note to the List(Riders who make their first appearance to the list. In most cases this is their first winners but not all)
T.J.Barry - (Rider of four time scorer The Bird O’Donnell)
D.P.Berry - (Daragh. Brother of Johnny. Cousin of J.A.Berry former champion. Assistant to Padge Berry)
P.Cashman - (Cork Amateur. Rider of 95 winners between the flags. Son of Liam (Rathbarry Stud))
A.J.Costello - (Galway Amateur)
T.Gibney - (Athboy Amateur)  
D.A.Harney - (Son of Trainer Willie)
P.Henley - (Curragh Trainer and former professional. Winner of Kim Muir on Flyers Nap for R.H.Alner)
R.M.Murphy  - (Galway Trainer)
T.J.Murphy - (Kildare Rider. Champion Novice 94 & 95. Top English professional. Irish Grand National Winner
on Davids Lad)
P.O’Keeffe - (Mallow Trainer. Former amateur with Enda Bolger & Josh Gifford)
D.C.O’Connor - (Ballybunion amateur)
B.Potts - (Northern Amateur. 18 pt winners to ’03)
R.Pugh - (Commentator & Ladies Cup winner on Handyfellow ‘95)
G.F.Ryan - (Former Amateur with A.P.O’Brien. 2nd in Track Amateur title ’95)
Lucy Townsley - (Lady Champion 1995)
A.K.Wyse - (Dublin Amateur. Top track rider. Winner of Champion Hunter Chase at Punchestown on

•    1993 saw John Berry take his third title following up his successes in’88 & ’90. Berry finished the season on 37 winners one short of Maguires record of 38 set in ’91.
•    In the regional awards Berry took an eighth Eastern title on the trot and also won his first Connaught title.
•    Champion Novice was Paul Roche who along with riding 16 winners while attached to the Michael Hourigan yard also rode Dorans Pride to a maiden success at Cashel.
•    Five year olds in the 1993 season were in good supply with Merry Gale, Elegant Lord and Kerry Orchid all scoring. The latter pair both getting to the top of the pile at an early age.
•    Kerry Orchid under Tony Martin beat a John Berry partnered Elegant Lord by a length and a half in the Champion Hunter Chase.
•    Brian Moran partnered former top Hunter Ah Whist to take the Joseph O’Reilly but he had to give best to the new recruits for horse of the year.
•    Racing Painter Peter Curling collected the leading horse award on behalf of his top five year old Kerry Orchid who along with beating Elegant Lord at Punchestown only found Double Silk too good at Cheltenham.
•    The personality award went to Turf Club Medical Officer Walter Halley who has brought the sport vastly forward in terms of safety over the years.



Membership of P2P.ie provides access to an extensive range of additional point-to-point content and features, exclusive only to P2P.ie members.


Already a member? Sign in