Baileys Top Right
DBS Top Right

Latest News

Nine not out for Kruzhlinin as he makes history at Taylorstown

History was made at Taylorstown on Saturday as Kruzhlinin became the first horse in the modern era to win nine races in a single point-to-point season.

Gordon Elliott’s charge was turned out just six days after he had re-joined Longhouse Music at the top of the champion point-to-point horse leaderboard with an effortless eighth success at Oldcastle last Sunday.
With Jamie Codd back aboard, the 12-year-old faced six rivals in the Boyd Stores open lightweight at the Newry Harriers fixture on Saturday afternoon including recent Loughbrickland winner Sambremont, however it was the 2016 champion Anseanachai Cliste, that provided him with one of his greatest challenges this season.
Codd had to shake up Gordon Elliott’s charge in the home straight to account for the back-to-form 11-year-old, but Kruzhlinin ultimately came out on top by three lengths, with the pair pulling a full 15 lengths clear of Sambremont back in third.
The success for the Camilla Sharples-owned chestnut ensures that he becomes the first horse to move to the nine-winner mark, one more than Battlefront, The Hollinwell, Ourmanmassini and Sydney Paget all achieved on their way to win the champion point-to-point horses title, and Kruzhlinin now moves into pole position to become the 2019 champion.
Unbeaten in each of his starts between the flags this season following a trio of successes at Tinahely alongside victories at Moig South, Corbeagh House, Tyrella, Kirkistown, Oldcastle and now Taylorstown, he is one clear of Longhouse Music, but suffered his first defeat of the campaign at Fairyhouse a day later.
Turned out just 24 hours after that record-breaking Taylorstown success, the 12-year-old met with defeat for the first time between the flags when Some Are Lucky lowered his colours in the novice riders contest.

That success keeping Some Are Lucky's own title hopes alive, as it saw him pick up a seventh success of the season.

Champion Point-to-Point Horse Roll of Honour

2018  Sydney Paget (Pat Doyle) - 8 wins
2017  Ourmanmassini (Peter Flood) - 8 wins
2016  Anseanachai Cliste (Stephen McConville) - 7 wins
2015  Carrigeen Acebo (Dick Lalor) / Mr Bolt (Sean McParlan) - 7 wins
2014  The Hollinwell (Eugene O'Sullivan) - 8 wins
2013  Nedzers Return (Gordon Elliott) - 7 wins
2012  Battlefront (Ted Walsh) - 8 wins


Search News


Rob James and Barry O'Neill to share championship spoils

The Wexford pair have agreed to sit out the final weekend of the season and so will be crowned joint champions. 

Next Gen | Paul Lake

Earlier this month, Co. Tipperary native, Paul Lake, rode his first winner between the flags on He Might Be Lucky at Stowlin for handler Eamonn O'Donovan.

James & Hendrick Share Eastern Title

Wexford natives Jack Hendrick and Rob James will share the 2024 Eastern Title with both finishing on a total of 22 winners.


Membership of P2P.ie provides access to an extensive range of additional point-to-point content and features, exclusive only to P2P.ie members.


Already a member? Sign in

/* * * Google Analytics & cookie banner * */